Skip to content

A word from Michael Tucker

October 8, 2009

After graduating from the Michael Tucker Dog Psychology Course, I spent the next ten years as supervisor and resident dog trainer for the Elva Raper chain of boarding/training kennels in Melbourne. After this, followed a fifteen year period where I was proprietor of my own boarding/training kennels (Peppercorn Park) and dog grooming salon on the outskirts of Melbourne. Beverley Manners 2009

What Michael Tucker had to say

I have not heard of this person Beverley Manners and I don’t recall her ever coming to me for training. In the past people have used my name for their own gain. She prints: After graduating from the Michael Tucker Dog Psychology course………..apart from not recalling her name nor recognizing her in photographs. I do not run Dog Psychology Courses. I run dog training courses in which I do touch on canine psychology here and there. No one ever graduates from my dog training courses. They attend and I am happy to help them. They don’t have to take an exam and I don’t issue diploma’s.

I guess Beverley is trying to cash in on my reputation, she is using my name to boost herself and what she is doing. I’m sure more and more people will find out that she is a person up to no good.

Regards Michael Tucker

Michael Tucker is a noted author of 5 dog training books, operates a dog training school in Victoria, and is the President of the Australian Association of Professional Dog Trainers.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Anonymous permalink
    October 8, 2009 10:02 am

    Liar Liar pants on fire!

  2. Alison permalink
    October 8, 2009 10:55 am

    Does Beverley ever tell the truth about anything ?
    How can anyone believe anything that she says!
    Is she keeping track of all the lies she has posted over the years, they are tripping her up now.

  3. Lisa Ryan permalink
    October 8, 2009 11:19 am

    Beverly Manners has, on numerous public forums, continued to claim false, distorted and misleading credibility through various associations with reputable individuals or organisations. All such individual or organisations including Disability Aid Dogs and Monash University have either disassociated with Beverly Manners or confirmed that no such association ever existed, apart from Beverly’s own vivid imagination. Yes what a tangled web Beverly is weaving for herself and how readily her groupies follow – wihout question.

    Michale Tucker is both experienced and highly respected in the ‘dog’ world and has authored some 23 plus articles on basic training and some 11 on canine temperament, It is a pity Bev didn’t do some training with him – she may have actually learnt something of value.

  4. silva permalink
    October 8, 2009 1:57 pm

    Good for him, Michael Tucker is a well known dog trainer, Beverley is a well known liar. There is a very big difference between them.

  5. Jane permalink
    October 8, 2009 3:32 pm

    Yet more lies from RM 😦

  6. heike allison permalink
    October 9, 2009 6:42 am

    Oh my, what’s next on the trail of untruths and her web of lies??

  7. Joyce Tabor permalink
    October 10, 2009 12:12 am

    I should not be, but I am astonished at the numerous facades that she has built around her. It appears that this woman has enclosed herself in a glass house and has filled it with so many lies for so long that she truly BELIEVES her fantasy world. Pity? Oh yes.

    I beg you, please release your dogs so that they can live in the real world, with real people who will love and care for them and expect not a penny from them. Enroll yourself in a place where you can get help. You need it desparately.

  8. silva permalink
    October 10, 2009 9:45 pm

    Do you know, I can’t find ANY Rutland Manor puppies sold before 1998/1999. If I’m wrong, please tell me.
    So much for 22 years of labradoodle breeding, we have all been too trusting.

  9. silva permalink
    October 14, 2009 4:00 am

    I don’t think we are going to find any Rutland Manor labradoodles sold more than 11 years ago.

    One fact has just struck me. Wally Conron first bred the labradoodle that was used as a guide dog in 1989 and that story is on the Rutland Manor website as the HISTORY of the original purpose bred labradoodles that lay behind their breeding, 1989 is only 20 years ago, not more than 22!
    Wally Conron’s story was published in the Reader’s Digest http://www.readersdigest.com.au/content/printContent.do?contentId=43132

    This event in 1989 is described as the “early origins” of the breed and must obviously be before Beverley Manners started breeding. Looks like one of Bev’s slip ups.

    • One who knows permalink
      October 14, 2009 12:29 pm

      You won’t find any of her dogs bred 22 years ago because it is another lie. 22 years ago she had doberman’s with cropped ears and not a Labradoodle in sight. The oldest dog she has sold is around 11 years old.

  10. Methinks permalink
    October 14, 2009 2:49 pm

    This might shed some light into the Australian Labradoodle history and dates.

    http://www.hudsondoodles.com/pages/BREEDHISTORY.htm

  11. Lisa Ryan permalink
    October 14, 2009 10:43 pm

    What is really interesting is I can’t seem to find any record of Beverly Manners/ Wetzel being a Victorian judge either. I have looked through very old records and the Victorian Conformation judging lists for Groups 3 & 5 as Beverly has always publically confirmed but so far no records and no recollection by anyone (to date) in years gone by of her judging, exhibiting, breeding (registered breeding) either.

    They must have changed the VCA Inc rules as now you can only obtain one breeder prefix and one extra in partnership with another individual or association. I recall Beverly claiming she bred under several prefixes. I’ll need to follow that up too.

    Of course I may be searching in the wrong period but I assume it was prior to commencing the puppy farmed Labradoodles. I’ve also assumed that it was confirmation judging Beverly had trained in and been accredited and licensed for. Maybe it was Obedience or Agility etc. I’ll keep searching as I wouldn’t want to incorrectly imply that these statements publically made by Beverly were also dishonest. It would of course be made much simpler if Beverly or one of her groupies could confirm the exact period of time, or the allocated judging license number or the relevant VCA Inc membership no (to exhibit at shows and breed) or the relevant VCA Inc breeder prefix (to breed and register). I am as a registered breeder just genuinely interested.

    • scared permalink
      January 3, 2010 12:20 pm

      hi all,
      lisa… oh sooo good, you have written my query as well. I have a relative who has been breeding in victoria for 40 years, with extensive showing, and multiple australian championships to her studs credit. As i dont want to embroil her in this drama i wont mention the prefix, but needless to say it is a group 5 breed. She has never heard of Beverly Manners. She keeps her show records and memorablilia.
      There is a long waiting list for any of her puppies, and her stud costs for required DNA testing, genetic fault and eye testing, microchipping, etc and vet exams and immunisations are extensive. Her puppy price has just gone up from $700 to $800 a puppy.
      Shame on you BEV- $1500 per puppy plus… who are making money from?? You are a puppy farmer and nothing else… You care nothing for the wellbeing of your girls… or anybody else except yourself for that matter.

      • Kathleen Kavanagh permalink
        February 7, 2010 1:55 am

        Hi,
        I am researching the Australian Labradoodle to find a puppy for my Mom and I.

        I live in Manhattan, NY. I was looking at the Rutland Manor site and reading the story there and saw the reference to Michael Tucker Dog Psychology and looked him up and oh my gosh I was not prepared for this information.

        I read your reply and was hoping you could tell me where to get a great representation of this wonderful breed.

        Thank you.
        Sincerely,
        Kathleen Kavanagh

  12. heike allison permalink
    October 16, 2009 12:49 am

    Methinks, wow after reading that article you have to wonder how “many” breeds really are in the RM/TP dogs?? Angela says one thing Bev says another. Crazy at best!!

  13. silva permalink
    October 22, 2009 7:45 pm

    I will tell you what breeds are in my Australian Labradoodle once the results arrive. I have heard from other owners what their DNA profile has shown and it wasn’t quite what they were expecting.

  14. October 24, 2009 9:01 am

    It will be interesting to read the DNA results if those of you that have opted to do this are willing to publish ?

  15. silva permalink
    November 9, 2009 11:31 am

    I am ready to publish, my Australian Labradoodle from pure RM/TP lines has these results from her DNA analysis. I sent this to Australia so that the breed recognition would be most accurate for a dog of totally Australian mix. The first 4 are in much more significant proportions than the lower results below 0.05 of which there are a large number, Labrador was 0.04.
    About 0.7 and above would indicate pure breed.

    1 Poodle 0.285
    2 Gerrman Shorthaired Pointer 0.086
    3 Shih Tzu 0.085
    4 Chow Chow 0.078

    Apparently trace amounts can indicate shared markers. Looking at breed history there is NO shared breeding between poodles, labradors and Shih Tzus. Chow Chows and Shih Tzus do at least come from the same part of the world, China and Tibet. German Shorthaired Pointer maybe explains her colour.

    I’m a bit stunned. The breeder was caught as badly as I have been, I do not blame HER for buying very expensive mutts with fake pedigrees and breeding them together in good faith and I won’t name her. I do blame ANGELA and BEVERLEY.

    Anyone else with results to share?

Leave a Reply

